© 2020 Donovan+Associates 

CE Requirements by State Licensing Boards

February 1, 2018


 Have you ever noticed the peak in demand for Lunch & Learn request or higher turnouts in AIA events toward the end of each year, typically in October, November and December. No great mystery here...AIA Member must get their 18 Learning Units (LU's) each calendar year with 12 of those being for Health, Safety and Welfare (HSW).  But many of the architects that you probably provide continuing education to aren't AIA members.  However...they most likely have mandatory continuing education requirements by their state.  Each state is different. For example, Florida requires 24 hours of credit every 2 years (due on even years).  They also require 22 of the 24 to be HSW with 2 of the 24 courses covering topics on the Florida Building Code .  New York on the other hand requires 36 hours every three years with 24 of the 36 hours required to be HSW. 


Knowing the different state requirements can help you plan and strategize your AIA Courses, events and Lunch & Learns. AIA's website has a great resource which provides information for each state, to view the state requirements click here.

Share on Facebook
Share on Twitter
Please reload

Featured Posts

I'm busy working on my blog posts. Watch this space!

Please reload

Recent Posts

September 7, 2018

May 24, 2018

Please reload

Please reload

Search By Tags

I'm busy working on my blog posts. Watch this space!

Please reload

Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square